Fruits for the Week

Header Last edition English


The name of Jesus (may God’s peace be upon him) occurs in the sacred texts of both Islam and Christianity. But the significance attached to it is radically different in the two religions. Muslims consider Jesus as one of the Prophets of Almighty God and revere him as much as other Prophets of God like Abraham, Moses, or Muhammad (God’s peace be on them). The Christian Churches, on the other hand, regard Jesus as the ‘Son of God ' and worship him as such. This was not the practice of the earliest Christians. They believe that God is One and that Jesus was but a servant and apostle of God.

Once Prophet Muhammad (saw) passed by a people who were suffering from some affliction. “Why don’t they make du’a (supplication) to Allah for protection,” he said. With all the suffering and disasters Muslims are facing in various parts of the world, the question can be directed to all of us today.

As with everything else in his life, the Prophet (SAW) was an ideal example when it came to his dealings with others. If, for instance, someone is to lend him something, the Prophet (SAW) would pay him back with something better and more expensive. The Prophet (SAW) would do so without any prior agreement; the terms of his loan required him to pay back only what he borrowed. So it was out of his generosity that, when it came time to pay back a loan, he (SAW) out of the kindness of his heart, would pay his creditor back with something better than the thing he borrowed. This form of generosity is different from transactions involving usury, for usury involves a prior agreement, or understanding, that the borrower will pay his creditor back more than he initially borrowed. And Allah knows best.

e-Newsletter Subscription Form

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Anti-Spam: What color is the sky?

Language Switcher